Ian Walker Trophy nominees 2023

At the end of each season, the Ian Walker Trophy is awarded to a Junior member of Chipstead Sailing Club in recognition of their achievements during the year, and the qualities that make them a role model for the Junior and Youth membership.

This year there are three nominees: Dan, Mim and Toby.

Thank you to the 80+ CSC members who cast their votes. The supporting comments submitted with the votes highlight the contribution these three make to encouraging and inspiring others e.g. Dan is a great role model to other sailors for Chipstead, KSSA and at events around the country… Mim has really got stuck in this year devoting a lot of time to teaching our younger, less confident sailors. It was also great to see Mim out with Wealden Sailability supporting others who are less fortunate to take to the water… Toby is a mature and well-rounded member of the training team and real credit to the club. He has become a confident instructor and a positive role model for young people.

This year’s winning nominee received over two thirds of the votes… Mim! 
Mim with the Ian Walker trophy at prizegiving, January 2024
Mim receiving the Ian Walker trophy at prizegiving, January 2024